Skip to main content

About Our School

our history

The first public school for boys in Pensacola was organized in 1870. A two-story building on Wright Street was erected by the School Board in 1875. It was known as the Pensacola Academy. In 1886, a new building was erected on Lee Square, known as Public School No. 1. In 1905, the four-year high school was organized in the Public School No. 1 building. 

Pensacola High is recognized as having Florida's oldest high school football program, girl's basketball program, and school year book.

 

School IMprovement

Contact information    850-595-1500

School Secretary:

Sherita Johnson            (ext. 223)  sjohnson7@ecsdfl.us

 

Student Records and Attendance:

Alison Parker                (ext. 222)  aparker1@ecsdfl.us

 

Student Registration and Data:

Kenyata Johnson          (ext. 229)  kjohnson2@ecsdfl.us

 

ESE Office Secretary:

Yolanda Thomas          (ext. 259)  ythomas@ecsdfl.us

 

Guidance Secretary:

Evelyn Pate                    (ext.226)  epate@ecsdfl.us

 

IB Secretary:                     

Jama Metcalfe               (ext. 245)  jmetcalfe@ecsdfl.us

 

Principal's Secretary:

Michelle Taylor             (ext. 224)  mtaylor@ecsdfl.us

 

IT Specialist:

William Hatcher            (ext. 258) whatcher@ecsdfl.us

 

Testing Coordinator:   (ext. 252)  rwilliams7@ecsdfl.us

 

PHS

Home of the tigers   _________________________________________                                                                 

click here to learn about our most recent US NEws best high schools ranking!

What we offer

The only IB: International Baccalaureate program in Escambia County

17 AP Courses

4 On-Campus Dual Enrollment Courses

7 Career Academy Programs 

20 Sports Teams

Over 50 Student Clubs

Dedicated faculty and staff, many of whom have advanced degrees

 

Mission statement

The mission of Pensacola High School is to inspire and prepare all students for postsecondary and career readiness to meet the demands of an ever-changing world.

• Graduation within four years of entering high school

• Post Secondary Readiness

• Career Preparedness

 

vision statement

The faculty and staff of Pensacola High School recognize our responsibilities to a student body within a wide range of abilities and to a community that has provided resources.

We strive to provide an educational program to meet the present and future needs of students whether they plan to continue formal education in a college or in a vocational program or intend to enter the work force directly after graduation.

We believe the school should provide an atmosphere which recognizes that each individual student has something of value to contribute; which is conducive to good study, work, and attendance habits; which stimulates the learning process; which contributes to the understanding of the democratic process and to an appreciation of our nation’s heritage; and which develops a commitment to promote, enrich, and perpetuate the American way of life.

We encourage students to participate in a wide range of school activities, including student government, academic honors, service organizations, athletics, cultural and social events, all designed to enhance all students’ experiences.

Our goal is to prepare a well adjusted citizen able to contribute to home, school, and community

PHS

location

Pensacola High School is located near downtown Pensacola at      500 W. Maxwell Street,            Pensacola, FL 32501                        

PHS Map

Bell schedule & Calendars